WASHINGTON, D.C. — Today, U.S. Senator John Barrasso (R-WY), chairman of the Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works (EPW), released the following statement regarding a letter that Senators Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND) and Joe Manchin (D-WV) sent to Interior Secretary Zinke. The letter called for scrapping the current Bureau of Land Management’s (BLM) final rule on methane emissions. 

This letter comes hours after the Senate’s procedural vote on H.J. Res. 36, a Congressional Review Act (CRA) joint resolution of disapproval of the BLM’s final rule. Both Heitkamp and Manchin voted against the motion to proceed to debate on H.J. Res. 36. The final vote was 49-51 to not take up the resolution.

“Letters to the secretary are nice, but when given the opportunity to immediately remove this punishing regulation, the Senators voted no,” Barrasso said