Kristina Baum – 202.224.6176
Donelle Harder – 202.224.1282 


Inhofe, Rounds Statement on Chemical Safety Board Chairman’s Resignation


WASHINGTON, D.C. — U.S. Sens. Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.) chairman of the Senate Environment and Public Works (EPW) Committee, and Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), chairman of the subcommittee on Superfund, Waste Management, and Regulatory Oversight, released the following statement welcoming the resignation of Rafael Mourie-Eraso, chairman of the U.S. Chemical Safety and Hazard Investigation Board:


“We applaud the White House for responding to our request for Chairman Rafael Mourie-Eraso’s resignation. During his time serving a chairman, we believe he violated his oath of office and violated the law. Mourie-Eraso’s leadership created an environment of dysfunction within the agency and it was no longer operating with credibility in conducting meaningful investigations of industrial incidents. There is no doubt the Chemical Safety Board serves a critical public safety role, and we urge the president to work with the EPW Committee and our colleagues in the Senate to fill the vacancies left at the CSB and once again restore trust and transparency at the agency," said Sens. Inhofe and Rounds.


On March 12, Inhofe and Rounds sent a letter to President Obama calling for the immediate resignation of Moure-Eraso. In the letter, the members shed light on the failed practices of the chairman and the lack of credibility created by him and his leadership team.