Matt Dempsey (202) 224-9797

David Lungren (202) 224-5642 


Dec. 16, 2009 - Senator Inhofe discusses important farm issues with Oklahoma Farm Bureau

 President Mike Spradling in Washington, D.C. 

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Sen. Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.) has been honored by the American Farm Bureau Federation (AFBF) as the recipient of the organization’s highest award, the Golden Plow award.  Inhofe was nominated for the award by the Oklahoma Farm Bureau for his work on critical Farm Bureau issues.   

“I believe that American farmers are the backbone of our nation – a diverse domestic supply of food and fiber is the foundation of our security, our social values and our economy,” Inhofe said. “I am deeply honored to receive the American Farm Bureau Golden Plow award, and will continue to do all I can to fight for the American farmer in Washington.  Too many times, our farmers face unnecessary mandates, oppressive federal regulations, and an overreaching government bureaucracy.  In addition to fighting against the cap-and-trade legislation that would have a devastating impact on our nation’s agricultural community, I am committed to protecting private property; promoting alternative energies, such as cellulosic biomass ethanol, that do not compete with feedstock; maintaining a strong safety net for those that provide us with a safe, reliable, and affordable food supply; and ensuring trade doors remain open so that our farmers and ranchers have marketing opportunities abroad.”

“Senator Inhofe is a steadfast supporter of agriculture,” said Oklahoma Farm Bureau President Mike Spradling. “His longtime record as a strong, effective advocate of farmers and ranchers makes him an excellent choice for the Golden Plow award.”

AFBF presents Golden Plow awards to one House member and one Senate member each year. Farm Bureau awards the Golden Plow to a member of Congress, regardless of party affiliation, whose philosophy or record demonstrates his or her commitment to the private enterprise system; sound agricultural policies supported by Farm Bureau; fiscal conservatism; and reduced federal regulations on businesses and individuals. 

Sen. Inhofe is one of only three Oklahoma lawmakers to receive the prestigious award, following Sen. David Boren, who won the award in 1990, and Sen. Don Nickles, who received the award in 1992. In addition to the Golden Plow award, Sen. Inhofe has been given American Farm Bureau’s “Friend of the Farm Bureau” Award in every Congress since he took office and was named Oklahoma Farm Bureau’s Distinguished Service to Agriculture Award recipient in 2005.