Subcommittee Members


Mike Rounds (R-SD), Chair

Jim Inhofe (R-OK)

Richard Shelby (R-AL)

Joni Ernst (R-IA)


Cory Booker (D-NJ), Ranking Member

Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY)

Ed Markey (D-MA)


Superfund and Waste Issues
Environmental Protection Agency’s Office of Land and Emergency Management (OLEM)
Superfund Program
Brownfields Program
Solid Waste Disposal Act
Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA), including recycling and electronic recycling, federal facilities and interstate waste
Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act (CERCLA, or Superfund)
Emergency Planning and Community Right to Know Act (EPCRA)
Solid waste disposal and recycling

Chemical Issues
Environmental Protection Agency’s Office of Pollution Control and Prevention (OCSPP)
Chemical Safety and Hazardous Investigation Board (CSB)
Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA)
Toxic Release Inventory
Chemical Policy, including Chemical Security
Persistent Organic Pollutants (POPs)
Risk Assessment
Environmental effects of toxic substances, other than pesticides

Regulatory Oversight
Council on Environmental Quality (CEQ)
Morris K. Udall and Stewart L. Udall Foundation 
National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) 
Responsibility for oversight of agencies, departments, and programs within the jurisdiction of the full committee, including oversight of environmental research and development, and for conducting investigations within such jurisdiction (The oversight jurisdiction pertains to good governance matters like mismanagement of federal funds and personnel issues, but not to policy matters like those within the jurisdiction of other subcommittees)
Environmental research and development