Washington, D.C.--Key negotiators on the Committee on Environment and Public Works announced a bipartisan agreement today on a 6-year reauthorization of the Transportation Equity Act for the 21st century (TEA-21). EPW Committee Chairman James Inhofe (R-Okla.), Ranking Member Sen. James Jeffords (I-Vt.), Transportation and Infrastructure Subcommittee Chairman Sen. Kit Bond (R-Mo.), and Transportation and Infrastructure Subcommittee Ranking Member Sen. Harry Reid (D-Nev.) released the following joint statement: “As we have said throughout the year, completing a 6-year reauthorization of Transportation Equity Act for the 21st century is essential for job creation, economic growth and expansion, and the nation’s infrastructure. We all agree that this legislation is a top priority for this committee, and so we have worked together for several months to find common ground. Today we reached bipartisan agreement on the major issues surrounding the bill and have scheduled a markup for Wednesday, November 5. We expect to move this bill through the EPW Committee with a bipartisan vote, and then proceed to consider it on the Senate floor as soon as Congress returns to work early next year. It is our hope that we can reach agreement with the House before the current extension expires on February 29, 2004 and send a bill to the President’s desk as quickly as possible.