Today, U.S. Sen. David Vitter (R-La.), top Republican on the Environment and Public Works (EPW) Committee, joined Sens. Barbara Boxer (D-Calif.), Chairman of the EPW Committee, Tom Carper (D-Del.), Chairman of the Transportation and Infrastructure Subcommittee, and John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Ranking Member of the Subcommittee, to announce the principle agreement on a bipartisan transportation reauthorization bill.

"It's about time to put trust into the Highway Trust Fund, and as we move forward, we will stay focused on a long-term reauthorization bill that invests in rural areas, and expanding flexibility for state and local governments," said Vitter.

Click here to watch statements from Sen. David Vitter and Sen. John Barrasso during the press conference.