WASHINGTON, D.C. — Today, U.S. Senator John Barrasso (R-WY), chairman of the Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works (EPW), praised the committee’s vote to report to the full Senate the nomination Oklahoma Attorney General Scott Pruitt, whom President Trump has nominated for administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).

The committee approved Mr. Pruitt’s nomination by a vote of 11-0. Due to the Democrats’ unprecedented boycott of the business meeting to consider an incoming EPA administrator, the committee voted to suspend its rules and move Attorney General Pruitt’s nomination forward.

“Attorney General Pruitt is the right person to lead the EPA,” said Barrasso. “Our committee conducted a very thorough confirmation process, and Mr. Pruitt has stood up to that scrutiny.

“He is committed to ensuring clean water, land, and air for all Americans while pursuing policies that allow our economy to grow. Our committee shares those goals, and I am glad we have taken action to move his nomination forward. I am confident the full Senate will confirm him soon.”