Matt Dempsey (202) 224-9797

David Lungren (202) 224-5642


Link to Golden Plow Award

Senator Inhofe with Oklahoma Farm Bureau President Mike Spradling (left)

and American Farm Bureau Federation President Bob Stallman (right)

 Senator Inhofe speaking at the Oklahoma Farm Bureau’s

 Annual Leadership Conference

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Last night, at the Oklahoma Farm Bureau’s annual Leadership Conference in Oklahoma City, Okla., U.S. Sen. Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.) was presented with the American Farm Bureau Federation’s highest award, the Golden Plow award.  Inhofe was nominated for the award by the Oklahoma Farm Bureau for his work on critical agriculture and Farm Bureau issues.   

"I am very honored to accept the Golden Plow award and to have this opportunity to speak to Oklahoma's farmers and ranchers," Inhofe said. "I will continue fighting for you in Washington, D.C. to address the issues you face--whether it's lower fuel and feed costs or leading the fight against devastating cap-and-trade legislation. It is always a pleasure working with the Oklahoma Farm Bureau and I look forward to working together in the future to ensure that Oklahoma continues to be a national leader in agriculture."  

"With over six million members, the American Farm Bureau Federation is the world's largest farm organization and we are extremely proud our very own Senator Inhofe is receiving the award," said Oklahoma Farm Bureau President Mike Spradling.

AFBF presents Golden Plow awards to one House member and one Senate member each year. Farm Bureau awards the Golden Plow to a member of Congress, regardless of party affiliation, whose philosophy or record demonstrates his or her commitment to the private enterprise system; sound agricultural policies supported by the Farm Bureau; fiscal conservatism; and reduced federal regulations on businesses and individuals. 

Sen. Inhofe is one of only three Oklahoma lawmakers to receive the prestigious award, following former U.S. Sen. David Boren, who won the award in 1990, and former U.S. Sen. Don Nickles, who received the award in 1992. In addition to the Golden Plow award, Sen. Inhofe has been given American Farm Bureau’s “Friend of the Farm Bureau” Award in every Congress since he took office and was named Oklahoma Farm Bureau’s Distinguished Service to Agriculture Award recipient in 2005.