Kristina Baum (EPW) – 202.224.6176

Donelle Harder (EPW) – 202.224.1282

Jennifer Talhelm (Udall) – 202.228.6870


Senators to Announce Major Progress on Chemical Safety Reform


WASHINGTON, DC – Tomorrow, Thursday, May 7, 2015, bipartisan cosponsors of a bill to overhaul the nation’s broken chemical safety law will hold a news conference in the Senate Radio & TV Gallery, S-325, to discuss major progress on the legislation and prospects for a vote in the full Senate.


Participants will include the bill’s authors, Sens. Tom Udall (D-N.M.) and David Vitter (R-La.); Environment and Public Works Committee Chairman James Inhofe (R-Okla.); Sen. Tom Carper (D-Del.); and Sens. Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.) and Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), who were instrumental in crafting a bipartisan compromise that was incorporated into the legislation.


The Frank R. Lautenberg Chemical Safety for the 21st Century Act was approved by the EPW Committee last week with a strong bipartisan 15-5 vote. It would make landmark reforms to the broken 1976 Toxic Substances Control Act, finally giving the Environmental Protection Agency the power to regulate chemicals – including asbestos, BPA, formaldehyde and other substances used in everyday products and manufacturing. The bill would ensure EPA is able to be the cop on the beat protecting families from dangerous chemicals, while promoting innovation and providing certainty about the law for all Americans.


Tomorrow, Thursday, May 7, 2015

WHAT: Press conference to announce major progress on chemical safety reform

TIME: 11:30 a.m. ET

WHERE: Senate Radio & TV Gallery, S-325