MARC MORANO 202-224-5762

MATT DEMPSEY 202-224-9797


Leading Evangelical and Conservative Leaders Send Letter Urging Senate to Reject Lieberman-Warner


Letter Says Carbon Cap and Trade Bill Would Kill Millions of Jobs, Raise Energy Costs for the Middle Class, Harm the Poor


Link to Letter


WASHINGTON, DC – Sen. James Inhofe (R-Okla.), Ranking Member of the Environment & Public Works Committee, today welcomed a letter signed by leading evangelical and conservative leaders opposing S.2191 - America's Climate Security Act (Lieberman-Warner). The letter, sent to all 100 U.S. Senators, urges the defeat of climate change legislation which they say would lead to “imperceptible” changes in temperature “while doing grave harm to our economy, the poor, and U.S. competitiveness.”   The letter dispels the myth made by a few on Capitol Hill that people of faith have somehow embraced the more radical climate change proposals.  Over 70 religious leaders, economists, scientists, state legislators and public policy advocates signed the letter.        

“Leading evangelical and conservative leaders made a bold statement by joining together and sending a letter to all 100 Senators outright rejecting the economic wrecking Lieberman-Warner bill,” Senator Inhofe said. “I welcome this letter and encourage each of my colleagues to seriously consider the arguments made by these leading evangelical and conservative leaders. In particular, the letter states their concerns over the severe economic impact on American families as a result of millions of job losses, skyrocketing energy costs, as well as increased price of food, especially on the poor.

“Further, this letter clearly dispels the myth advocated by a few on Capitol Hill that leading evangelicals support Lieberman-Warner.” 


The letter was signed by the following 70 individuals:
Richard Land, Ethics and Religious Liberty Commission, Southern Baptist Convention
Tony Perkins, President, Family Research Council
Gary Bauer, American Values
Rev. Louis P. Sheldon, Chairman, Traditional Values Coalition
Barrett Duke, Co-Chair, Cornwall Stewardship Agenda
Paul Weyrich, Coalitons for America
Gary Palmer, Alabama Policy Institute
Sadie Fields, Chairman, Georgia Christian Alliance
Anthony Verdugo, Founder and Executive Director, Christian Family Coalition
Harry Valentine, Capitol Hill Prayer Alert
Gary Jarmin, President, American Service Council
Jeff Mazzella, President, Center for Individual Freedom
Dr. Jerome Corsi, WorldNet Daily
George Landrith, Frontiers of Freedom Institute
Grover Norquist, Americans for Tax Reform
Tim Phillips, Americans for Prosperity
Amy Ridenour, Americans for the Preservation of Liberty
Kelsey Zahourek, Property Rights Alliance
Ken Blackwell, Coalition for a Conservative Majority
Jim Martin, 60-Plus
Kevin Kearns, U.S. Business and Industry Council
Chuck Muth, Citizen Outreach Project
Don Irvine, Accuracy In Media
Colin Hanna, Let Freedom Ring
Ron Pearson, Council for America
John Kuapisz, American Council for Immigration Reform
Demos Chrissos, National Voters Alliance
Richard Faulknor, Blue Ridge Forum
Larry Gill, President, First Person, Inc.
Dee Hodges, Maryland Taxpayers Association
Joyce E. Thomann, President, Republican Women of Anne Arundel County-MD
Kerri Houston, Institute for Liberty
Jack Rohrer, Free America
Drew Thorney, Texas Public Policy Foundation
L. Arnold, Alaska Defenders League
Rep. Lawrence Miller, Connecticut General Assembly
James Poesl, Senior Environmental Policy Analyst, Decisive Action
Tim Nytra, Environmental Manger, Allied Waste Industries, Inc.
Ron Richard, Associate Dean, University of Mississippi
Dr. Howard Maecabee, Director, Doctors for Disaster Prepardness
Paula Easley, RDC, Inc.
Dr. Vincent Gray, NZ Climate Coalition
Peter K. Seldin, Managing Partner, Centennial Energy Partners, LLC
Robert Ferguson, Science & Public Policy Institute
Dr. Brian Haynes, AISA Academy
J. Scott Armstrong, Professor, Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania
Tom Mullins, Engineering Manager, Synergy Operating LLC
Paul Spite, President, AFD Consulting
Brian Lovelle, Attorney, North Carolina
Craig Rucker, Executive Director, Committee for a Constructive Tomorrow
Meredith McCain, Committee for a Constructive Tomorrow
Barry Schwartz, NOAA Research, Ret.
Joseph D’Aleo, Executive Director,
Rep. Ralph Watts, Iowa General Assembly
Paul Sanders, Engineer, Ret.
M.R. Fox, Scientist, American Nuclear Society
Viv Forbes, Chairman, Carbon Sense Coalition
Harold Shurtleff, The New American
James Huffman, Professor, Lewis & Clark Law School
Bryan Wermat, Scientist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Linda C Ruebeck, State Senator(Ret.), Minnesota
Barbara Anderson, President, MFI
Ryan Nichols, Campus Programs, Committee for a Constructive Tomorrow
Sen. David Hann, Minnesota State Senate
Sen. Chris Gerlach, Minnesota State Senate
Baran Mitre, Liberty Institute
Amy Hagerstrom, Director, Americans for Prosperity, Michigan
Jeff Kropf, Director, Americans for Prosperity, Oregon
Robert Hodson, Director Emeritus, Dept. Marine Science, University of Georgia
Rep. John Stahl, Michigan House
Roy Cordato, VP for Research/Economist, The John Locke Foundation
Roy Innis, National Chairman, Congress of Racial Equality
Ron Arnold, Executive Vice President, Center for the Defense of Free Enterprise
Stuart Barton, American Seniors Association

* Organizations are listed for identification purposes only