U.S. Sen. David Vitter (R-La.), top Republican on the Environment and Public Works Committee, today passed the Federal Duck Stamp Act of 2014, which would update the price of the duck stamp for the first time since 1991.

"This is huge news for conservation and duck hunters. As we move forward to conserve millions of acres of waterfowl habitat, it's important to remember the mutually beneficial relationship between our nation's sportsmen and ducks," said Vitter. "This legislation boosts conservation efforts, which in turn directly impacts the success of duck hunters in near and future hunting seasons."

Click here to watch Sen. Vitter speak on the Senate Floor on passing the Duck Stamp bill.

"With the assistance of Sen. Vitter and his leadership in helping pass the Duck Stamp Act of 2014, much-needed funding has been secured for wetlands and waterfowl conservation," said Ducks Unlimited CEO Dale Hall. "The additional duck stamp funding provided by waterfowl hunters, and other conservationists will not only conserve critical waterfowl habitat, but will also help ensure the future of our waterfowling traditions."


The Federal Duck Stamp Act of 2014 updates the price of a duck stamp, a move supported by duck hunters due to the associated benefits to conserve duck habitat. The legislation also requires any additional revenue from the price increase to be used for conservation easements, which ensures that habitat will be better protected without a substantial increase in federal land ownership.

Ninety-eight cents out of every dollar generated by the sale of Federal Duck Stamps goes directly to purchase or lease wetland habitat for protection.

Vitter's bipartisan legislation was cosponsored by Senators Kelly Ayotte (R-N.H.), Mark Begich (D-Alaska), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Thad Cochran (R-Miss.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Tom Harkin (D-Iowa), Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Rob Portman (R-Ohio), Mark Pryor (D-Ark.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), Pat Toomey (R-Pa.) and Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.). The House version of this legislation was introduced by Rep. John Fleming (R-La.) and passed on November 17, 2014.