WASHINGTON, D.C. — Today, U.S. Senator John Barrasso (R-WY), chairman of the Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works (EPW), released the following statement on President Trump’s designation of Kristine Svinicki as chair of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC). Svinicki has served as a commissioner at the NRC since 2008.

“I want to congratulate Commissioner Svinicki on becoming chair of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission,” said Barrasso. “Her institutional knowledge and deliberative approach will serve the commission well.”