U.S. Sen. David Vitter (R-La.), top Republican on the Environment and Public Works Committee, and Senate Republican Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.), led 41 Senators in a letter to President Obama, asking him to withdraw the Administration's massive rule to regulate greenhouse gas emissions from existing power plants.

"Mostly, I'm concerned about the American families and businesses who are going to have to deal with the severe financial effects of the President's rule. It's all pain, no gain," said Vitter. "Clearly, this Administration prioritizes pushing a far-left environmental agenda over providing affordable, reliable electricity across the country. This is cap-and-trade all over again, without consent by the American people, in an attempt to payoff President Obama's friends and political allies."

"This Obama administration national energy tax would ship middle class jobs overseas, shatter our manufacturing base, and drive up energy costs for families, and especially families in Kentucky. It's a dagger aimed right at the heart of the American middle class, at a time when our constituents are already struggling under the weight of so many of this administration's other failed policies. I strongly urge his administration to consider these unacceptable costs and withdraw this measure," said McConnell.

In the letter, the Senators urge the President to withdraw the rule in its entirety. The rule, as proposed, would result in higher electricity bills, a decrease in a family's disposable income, and job losses throughout the economy all for no tangible impact on global climate.

Signing today's letter include Sens. Vitter, McConnell, James Inhofe (R-Okla.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Jeff Sessions (R-Ala.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), John Thune (R-S.D.), Orrin Hatch (R-Utah), Pat Toomey (R-Pa.), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Mike Enzi (R-Wyo.), Mark Kirk (R-Ill.), Tom Coburn (R-Okla.), Mike Johanns (R-Neb.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), James Risch (R-Idaho), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Richard Shelby (R-Ala.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Pat Roberts (R-Kan.), Dean Heller (R-Nev.), Rand Paul (R-Ky.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Dan Coats (R-Ind.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Thad Cochran (R-Miss.), Jeff Flake (R-Ariz.), Richard Burr (R-N.C.), Saxby Chambliss (R-Ga.), and Rob Portman (R-Ohio).

Click here to read the Senators' letter to President Obama.