Washington, DC - U.S. Senator Barbara Boxer (D-CA), Chairman of the Committee on Environment and Public Works, names Mary Kerr as the EPW Committee's Communications Director.

Kerr moved to the EPW Committee from the House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure, where she served as Majority Press Secretary since 2007. She was the principal spokesperson for four of the Transportation Committee's subcommittees, including: Water Resources and Environment, Economic Development, Public Buildings, and Emergency Management; Railroads, Pipelines and Hazardous Materials; and Coast Guard and Maritime Transportation. From 1995 through 2007, Mary was the Communications Director in Rep. Jim Oberstar's (D-MN) personal office.

Kerr earned her J.D. from the University of Wisconsin and her B.A. in Political Science and Communications at the University of Michigan.

Chairman Boxer also announced that Kate Gilman has been promoted to Deputy Communications Director. Nathan McCray has been promoted to Press Assistant.