Washington, DC - Today, the Environment and Public Works Committee approved the nominations of Victor Mendez to be Administrator of the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) for the Department of Transportation, Peter Silva for Assistant Administrator for Water at the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), and Stephen Owens to be Assistant Administrator for Prevention, Pesticides, and Toxic Substances at EPA.

The EPW Committee held a nomination hearing for Mr. Mendez on June 2 and a hearing for Mr. Silva and Mr. Owens on May 12. The nominations were approved by voice vote today and now go to the full Senate for consideration.