PETER RAFLE (202) 302-7086

Thursday, November 16, 2006


Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senator Barbara Boxer (D-CA), the incoming Chairman of the Senate Environment and Public Works Committee, today announced the Committee’s Subcommittee chair assignments for the 110th Congress:



Subcommittee on Public Sector Solutions to Global Warming, Oversight, Children’s Health Protection and Nuclear Safety


Chairman: Senator Barbara Boxer (D-CA)


Sen. Boxer’s subcommittee has jurisdiction over:


  • Global Warming


  • Oversight


  • Children’s Health Protection


  • Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC)


  • National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA)


Subcommittee on Transportation and Infrastructure


Chairman: Senator Max Baucus (D-MT)


Sen. Baucus’s subcommittee has jurisdiction over:


  • Transportation


  • Federal Highway Administration


  • Public Buildings


  • Water Resources Development Act (WRDA)


  • Stafford Act and federal disaster relief programs


  • Historic Preservation


  • National Dam Safety Program


  • Mississippi River Commission


  • Green Buildings


Subcommittee on Private Sector and Consumer Solutions to Global Warming and Wildlife Protection


Chairman: Senator Joseph Lieberman (I/D-CT)


Sen. Lieberman’s subcommittee has jurisdiction over:


  • Global Warming


  • Fisheries and Wildlife


  • Endangered Species Act (ESA)


  • National Wildlife Refuges


Subcommittee on Clean Air, Nuclear Plant Security and Community Development


Chairman: Sen. Tom Carper (D-DE)


Sen. Carper’s subcommittee has jurisdiction over:


  • Clean Air Act


  • Indoor Air


  • Tennessee Valley Authority


  • Economic Development Administration


  • Nuclear Plant Security


Subcommittee on Superfund and Environmental Health


Chairman: Sen. Hillary Rodham Clinton (D-NY)


Sen. Clinton’s subcommittee has jurisdiction over:


  • Superfund and Brownfields


  • Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA), including recycling, Federal facilities and interstate waste


  • Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA)


  • Emergency Planning and Community Right to Know Act (EPCRA)


  • Persistent Organic Pollutants (POPs)


  • Environmental Justice


  • Risk Assessment


Subcommittee on Transportation Safety, Infrastructure Security, and Water Quality


Chairman: Sen. Frank Lautenberg (D-NJ)


Sen. Lautenberg’s subcommittee has jurisdiction over:


  • Drinking Water, Chemical, and Wastewater Security


  • Clean Water Act, including wetlands


  • Safe Drinking Water Act


  • Coastal Zone Management Act


  • Invasive Species


  • Transportation Safety


  • Outer Continental Shelf Lands


Subcommittee memberships will be announced at a later date.