WASHINGTON, D.C. — Today, U.S. Senator John Barrasso (R-WY), chairman of the Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works (EPW), released the following statement on President Trump’s intention to nominate of Kristine Svinicki to continue serving as chair of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC). Svinicki was designated as the NRC chair in January.

President Trump also intends to nominate Annie Caputo and David Wright to serve as commissioners of the NRC.

"I want to congratulate Kristine Svinicki on her coming nomination to remain as chair of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission,” said Barrasso. “I also want to congratulate Annie Caputo and David Wright on their upcoming nominations. I am glad that President Trump intends to nominate such qualified leaders for these important positions at the commission.

“Annie serves as my senior policy advisor for nuclear issues at the Senate Environment and Public Works Committee. Her expertise and experience in nuclear policy makes her very well qualified to serve as a commissioner at the NRC.

“The Nuclear Regulatory Commission plays an important role in making sure that American nuclear energy is safe and efficient. I look forward to quickly holding a hearing on their nominations.”

Annie Caputo currently serves as the senior policy advisor for nuclear issues to Chairman Barrasso at the EPW Committee. Caputo is a nuclear engineer with 20 years of experience. She has served twice as professional staff at the House Energy and Commerce Committee, as well as previously at the EPW committee.

David Wright is the former president of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners and is the former chairman of the South Carolina Public Service Commission.