Matt Dempsey (202) 224-9797

David Lungren (202) 224-5642

Inhofe Statement on Confirmation of Nominees to the Nuclear Regulatory Commission

WASHINGTON, D.C. - U.S. Senator James Inhofe (R-Okla.), Ranking Member of the Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works, today welcomed the Senate confirmation of Bill Ostendorff, Bill Magwood, and George Apostolakis as commissioners on the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC).

"I am very pleased that the Senate has confirmed Bill Ostendorff, Bill Magwood, and George Apostolakis to serve on the Nuclear Regulatory Commission.  I believe that all three gentlemen will keep a safety-focused mindset in their new roles," Sen. Inhofe said. "With the nuclear energy industry poised for growth, the Commission has plenty of work to do.  Congress intended that the Commission function as a collegial body in its mission to protect public health, safety, and the environment.  It certainly functions best with the full complement of five commissioners and I'm pleased that the agency will now benefit from its full measure of leadership."