Washington, DC - U.S. Senator Barbara Boxer (D-CA), Chairman of the Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works, and Senator James Inhofe (R-OK), Ranking Member of the EPW Committee, have introduced S. 2778, The Economic Development Revitalization Act of 2009, bipartisan legislation to reauthorize the Economic Development Administration (EDA), which provides development grants to communities with high levels of economic distress.

In addition to Senators Boxer and Inhofe, Senators Max Baucus (D-MT), George Voinovich (R-OH), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), and David Vitter (R-LA) are original cosponsors of the measure.

The Environment and Public Works Committee has scheduled a business meeting to mark up the bill for Wednesday, November 18, at 9:30 am.

Senator Boxer said, "In these tough economic times, creating good jobs for American workers is our top priority. The Economic Development Administration has a great track record of generating good jobs and will benefit communities in California and across America. I am pleased to be working with Senator Inhofe and my colleagues on both sides of the aisle to move this important jobs bill forward to bring help to the families that need it most."

Senator Inhofe said: "I am pleased to work with Chairman Boxer and my EPW Committee colleagues on the reauthorization of EDA, which will lead to jobs in Oklahoma and across the nation. EDA works with partners in economically distressed communities to create wealth and minimize poverty by promoting favorable business environments that attract private investment and encourage long-term economic growth. Through my leadership position on the Senate EPW Committee, I have fought hard to promote responsible ways for the government to work to address the current economic recession. This is common sense bipartisan legislation that we should move forward as quickly as possible."

The current multi-year authorization for the Economic Development Administration (EDA) expired on September 30, 2009. The Economic Development Revitalization Act of 2009 would authorize EDA for 2009 through 2013 at $500 million per year while making important changes to EDA programs to ensure funding reaches the communities most in need.