September 10, 2020

The Honorable Adam Smith Chairman House Armed Services Committee 2216 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Mac Thornberry Ranking Member House Armed Services Committee 2216 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Jim Inhofe Chairman Senate Armed Services Committee 228 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Jack Reed Ranking Member Senate Armed Services Committee 228 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Chairmen Smith and Inhofe and Ranking Members Thornberry and Reed:

As you finalize the Fiscal Year 2021 National Defense Authorization Act ("FY21 NDAA"), we urge you to include provisions in the final bill that would support the development and demonstration of vital carbon capture and removal technologies.

The House- and Senate-passed FY21 NDAA bills again recognize that the United States must guard itself from those national security risks otherwise related to changes to the global climate landscape. Investments in carbon capture, utilization, and storage ("CCUS") and direct air capture ("DAC") technologies would manage these risks, while fostering new industries and creating important domestic jobs as the United States emerges from the COVID-19 pandemic.

The USE IT Act, included in the Senate-passed version of the FY21 NDAA, would do just that, and represents an important step towards addressing those risks by incentivizing the development of CCUS and DAC technologies, and the increased beneficial use of captured carbon.

It is imperative that you maintain the USE IT Act language contained in the Senate-passed bill in order to address not only immediate national security risks, but also the broader issues of energy security, economic vitality, environmental sustainability, and America's leadership at the forefront of CCUS technologies.

We thank you for considering our request and look forward to working with you on this important issue.

Sincerely,

My B.MIC

David B. McKinley, P.E. Member of Congress

ohn Barrasso

John Barrasso, M.D. United States Senator

Scott Peters Member of Congress

Sheldon Whitehouse United States Senator

Members of the U.S. House of Representatives

David Schweikert Member of Congress

5 ris

Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

Mike Bost Member of Congress

her Bustos

Cheri Bustos Member of Congress

Susan Wild Member of Congress

Xochitl Torres Small Member of Congress

aler X Morney

Alex X. Mooney Member of Congress

Dan Crenshaw Member of Congress

Pete Stauber Member of Congress

Jeff Fortenberry Member of Congress

Francis Roomey

Francis Rooney Member of Congress

Jaime derrera Butter

Jaime Herrera Beutler Member of Congress

Offalloron

Tom O'Halleran Member of Congress

lefaur

Lizzie Fletcher Member of Congress

lolos

Ted Deutch Member of Congress

JillA & C

Gilbert R. Cisneros, Jr. Member of Congress

Anthony & Sindii

Anthony Brindisi Member of Congress

Jim Costa Member of Congress

Kelly Armstrong Member of Congress

Kathleen M. Rice Member of Congress

mistevell

Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

Members of the United States Senate

Shilly More apito

Shelley Moore Capito United States Senator

Veni lumer

Kevin Cramer United States Senator

M. Michas Ron

M. Michael Rounds United States Senator

ohi

John Hoeven United States Senator

Thomas R. Carper United States Senator

Mauchine

Joe Manchin United States Senator

Christopher A. Coons United States Senator

Maggie Harran

Maggie Wood Hassan United States Senator

fere Dains

Steve Daines United States Senator

Michael S. Eng

Michael B. Enzi United States Senator

Tannyachunt

Tammy Duckworth United States Senator

Dian Dubin

Richard J. Durbin United States Senator

The SA

Tina Smith United States Senator

Bin School

Brian Schatz United States Senator

CC: Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi House Republican Leader Kevin McCarthy Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell Senate Democratic Leader Chuck Schumer /s/ Chris Van Hollen Chris Van Hollen United States Senator